Thursday, July 21, 2011

NY Eagle Scout of Year

Department Commander V. James Troiola, Eagle Scout of the Year Jason D. Maybach and Carl L. Griffith, Eagle Scout Chairman are shown above. The award was presented at Department Convention on Thursday, July 14th.

 Jason pictured with his family and friends and Department Commander Troiola.

Legion posts sponsor more than 2,500 Scouting units across the country. This is natural for Legionnaires, who bring their service-learned skills and experiences as veterans to help build character and positive traits in our country's youth. Few other post activities generate more goodwill from the community. The Legion annually honors the Eagle Scout of the Year at the national convention. The winner of the competition receives a $10,000 scholarship, and the three runners-up are each awarded $2,500 scholarships.

No comments:

Post a Comment